↬ A homeless man with a smartphone

Dieser Artikel im Time Magazine gibt zu bedenken:

It wasn’t easy to engage him in conversation. When I first asked how he liked his BlackBerry, he looked at me like I was crazy. Later, he chalked up his guarded nature to the fact that he often doesn’t have casual conversations anymore. Most people, he said, tend to avoid him once they realize he is poor and transient. “You can’t hide it, being poor,” he said. […]
But the most valuable aspect about his phone, is simply that it makes him look like everyone else. “You won’t believe it,” he tells me, “but if I didn’t have my phone, I probably couldn’t just sit here and have my coffee and be talking to you. It gives me something I can do in public. It’s not loitering if I’m typing or talking on my phone.” Loitering, he said, is often a good excuse to kick the homeless out of a place. And a phone is a passport that lets him stay in places longer than he would otherwise.

Immer diese sozialen Normen. Ein Smartphone ist die beste Tarnung eines armen Chamäleons.

Reading List: „A Homeless Man and His BlackBerry„, Time Techland

Schreibe einen Kommentar

